LionheART Publishing House - Welcome
LionheART Galleries   - *Books*Media Services*Handcrafted Original Jewellery*Crafts*
The Yorkshire Ghost Stories by Karen Perkins

Welcome to LionheART Publishing House
LionheART Publishing House is a publishing services company with a difference.

Karen Perkins - photo by John RiceAs an author herself, Karen Perkins understands the months and years of hard work that go into writing a book, and how important our books are to us. Having self-published her own work, she also understands how daunting this can be - and how important it is to present our books in the best possible light and have people read and enjoy our books. It is a great achievement to write a book, but that's only the start; as Indie authors we take on the mantle of publisher as well as writer.

Karen puts the book first - whoever has written it. She regards being asked to help bring a book into the world as a privilege and takes as much pride and excitement in the success of books she has worked on as she does in the success of her own books.

Karen Perkins is the author of seven fiction titles in the Valkyrie Series of Caribbean pirate adventures and the Yorkshire Ghosts Series. All of her fiction titles have appeared at the top of bestseller lists on both sides of the Atlantic, including the top 50 in the UK Kindle Store.

Her first Yorkshire Ghosts novel – THE HAUNTING OF THORES-CROSS – won the silver medal for European fiction in the prestigious 2015 Independent Publisher Book Awards in New York, whilst her Valkyrie novel, DEAD RECKONING, was long-listed in the 2011 MSLEXIA novel competition.

Her second Yorkshire Ghosts novel – KNIGHT OF BETRAYAL – opens with the assassination of the Archbishop of Canterbury in 1170, then follows the knights responsible when they flee north to Knaresborough Castle. As King Henry II and the whole of Christendom turn against them, they begin to come to terms with the enormity of what they have done, yet they cannot rest and return to Knaresborough 850 years later. Karen’s latest book in the Yorkshire Ghosts Series, is now available for pre-order and will be released on 28th February 2017.

PARLIAMENT OF ROOKS: HAUNTING BRONTË COUNTRY is set in both modern-day and Victorian Haworth – the West Yorkshire home of Charlotte, Emily and Anne Brontë. Parliament of Rooks delves into the era of ‘The Yorkshire Slavery’, and contrasts the beautiful, inspiring village of Haworth today with the slum – or rookery – it was during the industrial revolution: rife with disease, heartache, poverty, and employing child slavery in the mills.

Karen believes that there should be no reason for a reader to be able to tell whether a book has been traditionally or self-published – unless they look up the publisher’s name – and prides herself on her thorough, accurate and professional standard of work. Also, as a fellow author, she appreciates the emotional ‘trauma’ of the publishing process, and works hard to minimize this as much as possible. She is always on hand to answer questions.

She feels honoured to be asked to help 'birth' a book, and never forgets the most important thing about any book – the story. The reading experience is paramount in her mind whether writing, editing or formatting.

As a further resource for authors, Karen has compiled her expertise and experience into publishing guides, which are available in paperback or ebook:

The LionheART Guide to Formatting for Independent Authors by Karen PerkinsThe LionheART Guide to Editing Fiction for Independent Authors: US Edition by Karen PerkinsThe LionheART Guide to Editing Fiction for Independent Authors: UK Edition by Karen Perkins

For further information about any of these guides, please visit Karen's author website, which also includes details about her fiction, including a FREE short story offer:

Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story by Karen PerkinsPARLIAMENT OF ROOKS: Haunting Brontë CountryKnight of Betrayal: A Yorkshire Ghost Story by Karen PerkinsCursed: A Thores-Cross Short Story by Karen Perkins

The Valkyrie Series: The First Fleet (Books 1-3)  by Karen PerkinsThank you for visiting, and please do browse the site. If you have any questions or would like more information, please don’t hesitate to contact Karen on:

Or if you would like more information about her books, please visit her author website:
where you will also find details about her FREE Valkyrie short story offer: Where Away
Karen Perkins is a member of the Society of Authors, click for more information

You can also connect with Karen on:

Twitter: @LionheartG

You need Flash Player in order to view this.
KNIGHT OF BETRAYAL: A Yorkshire Ghost Story by Karen Perkins
The second paranormal suspense thriller in the Yorkshire Ghost Story series, Knight of Betrayal will plunge you into the vibrant and deadly world of medieval England: Henry II, Thomas Becket – and fou...
You need Flash Player in order to view this.
Thores-Cross by Karen Perkins - Book Trailer
Thores-Cross by Karen Perkins is a #1 Bestseller in British Horror, A haunting novel set in the North Yorkshire Moors about isolation, superstition and persecution. Thores-Cross follows...

You need Flash Player in order to view this.
THE VALKYRIE SERIES by Karen Perkins - Book Trailer
Historical adventure of piracy, love and revenge in the Caribbean in the seventeenth century ILL WINDDEAD RECKONINGLOOK SHARPE!WHERE AWAYGabriella Berryngton is an unhappy and oppressed ...
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint